Fitting the pieces together.

After presenting myself with a better understanding of each of the learning theories and styles I still come to the conclusion that the constructive theory bests fits my learning style.  Each theory has multiple aspects that define its creation.  Many of the theories have some sort of overlap, which build on one another. 

Learning occurs

Behaviorism – Observable behavior main focus

Cognitivism – Structured, computational

Constructivism – Social, meaning created by each learner

Connectivism – Network, social, technologically enhanced.

(Davis, Edmunds, Kelly-Bateman, 2008)

These past seven weeks have introduced me to some things that I already understood as an educator.  However, they have strengthened my understanding for the need to provide a variety of theories in order to accommodate all the styles of learners I see each year.  I tend to fall into the trap of using the same theories and approaches over and over again.  This class has given me the information and motivation to challenge myself to come up with new ways to provide information to my students. 

Technology has always played a key role in the way I teach.  From day one of teaching I always incorporated some sort of technology into each of my lessons knowing that it will influence my students.   I now see the need to continue this idea, as well as expand on it using some of the new technologies introduced into this class.  I also see the benefits of discussion boards, which is something I have yet to use day to day in my profession.  I think discussion boards allow students to use the time allowed on the board to provide overall better answers to the questions asked.  All in all, I find that my teaching will improve for next year knowing more about these theories as well as their application. 

 

  References

Davis, C, Edmunds, E, & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/

Leave a Reply

