Reflection

Reflection of Learning Theories and Instruction

Learning theories is nothing new to me as a high school teacher for the last nine year.  However, this courses approach to each learning theory has deepened my understanding on how students learn and what similarities and differences are formed from adults to younger students.  I liked reading about each of my classmates learning style from the first week and found it intriguing reading their posts and seeing first hand their style hard at work. 

This class has helped me understand my own learning process.  I initially thought that I was a little out there in terms of learning, but now have a better sense of my own personal learning style.  I also see how, at times, I use a variety of styles depending on the situation I am presented with.  I still believe that the constructivism theory best suits my needs as a learner.  Ertmer and Newby (1993) explain, “constructivism is a theory that equates learning with creating meaning from experience” (p.62).  These experiences are the key ingredient for me. 

I see one big connection between learning theories, learning styles, education technology, and motivation.  The connection is that in order to create the ideal learning environment we must understand each area and how to accommodate all of them for each of our students.  This is not an easy task, but it is one that is attainable with hard work and dedication to our main objectives of each course we teach. 

I am not sure that I will ever enter the field of instructional design.  I do know that as I see more and more technology incorporated in the classroom I will have the right tools to create content for students that is accessible from anywhere.  In fact, I plan on working to move more of my lessons online to my classroom website since our district has launched a more mobile friendly webpage design.  I hope that I can pioneer this effort and encourage other teachers to join me in taking advantage of the high percentage of students we teach using smartphones.  Already, I see myself using the material from this class and the leadership material from our previous course to make Springfield High a better place to learn. 

 

 

Reference

Ertmer, P. A., & Newby, T. J. (1993). Behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism: Comparing critical features from an instructional design perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4),50-71. Retrieved from https://class.waldenu.edu/bbcswebdav/institution/USW1/201360_02/MS_INDT/EDUC_6115/Week%201/Resources/Resources/embedded/Wk1_Ertmer-Newby-beh-cog-const.pdf

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

